Skip to content

A Yellow Chair

June 25, 2007

This is last week’s EDM challenge, but as I had visitors until yesterday, I haven’t drawn in days. It feels a little like when I stop exercising – the first days I miss it, and then I have a hard time starting again. I decided to sketch a yellow chair that my father-in-law gave to my son Damien a long time ago, when he was still small enough to sit in it. They probably bought it in African when they lived there in the 1960s, and it’s painted a horrible shade of yellow that they don’t even make any more. But Damien’s attached to it, and he still has it in his room.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2007 3:48 pm

    Fun chairs Casey! Isn’t it funny how we become attached to something. And I know exactly what you mean about not doing something and how hard it is to start again.

  2. June 25, 2007 4:00 pm

    Lovely drawings! Reminds me a bit of the van Gogh chairs!

  3. June 25, 2007 5:22 pm

    There is a recognizable maturity to all your work that really seems to allow you to stretch your creative vision…to the benefit of all of us who greatly admire your prolific portfolio. Thank-you!

  4. June 26, 2007 1:47 am

    Casey! I love this chari. The color, the line quality. You can almost imagine a wiggly toddler sitting in it.

  5. June 26, 2007 6:56 am

    love the way you did the chair.
    “It feels a little like when I stop exercising – the first days I miss it, and then I have a hard time starting again.”
    I just know this feeling too well. At least I got myself an appointment at the gym after 1.5 years 😉 and I do need to start drawing/sketching more again.

  6. June 26, 2007 4:28 pm

    Cute chair, and a strong yellow is perfect for a child. I can understand why it’s still around. Love your renditions of the loved chair!

  7. June 26, 2007 4:37 pm

    Now that looks like one lively and much loved chair.

  8. June 27, 2007 6:32 am

    A great chair Casey..I enjoy your linework to suggest the texture. And I enjoy the colors you added to beack of the chair in teh top one…hope you’re feeling comfortable in “excercising” again!
    Ronell

  9. June 27, 2007 8:46 pm

    Hi Casey – lovely chair and a nice job painting it too! And boy is it yellow! I’m glad to see that you are a sentimental person who keeps treasures like this. And I agree about both the exercising and the drawing after an absence (I’m trying to start up again with both myself).

    Mary

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

