Skip to content

Life Drawing

June 21, 2007

I didn’t think I’d make it to our last life drawing session yesterday, with all that’s been going on, but it turned out I could go after all. I recently received the book Painting from Life, by Douglas Lew, and in it he explains how he’s experimented over the years in life drawing sessions, and how he often keeps only one or two works from a 3 hour session. I was determined to loosen up and not get annoyed with myself, and I was actually really happy with some of my drawings. I also tried some watercolor, but I need a lot of practice with that.

Here they are, in the order they were done, and I’ll even post a watercolor, in the interest of warts and all honesty (I just won’t show you all the warts!) These are very large, and unfortunately the photos of them aren’t very good – no matter how much I fiddled them they are still a bit blurry. The first ones were five minutes, and the last one was a long pose (and by far the least successful – go figure.) .

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2007 10:01 am

    Great drawings from yesterday Casey! I love the first one, it is really beautiful. I struggled with this model yesterday and most of all the last pose. I found his body very awkward and on paper he looked like an alien! I also think the last pose was far too long, I started fiddling and erasing and refiddling.. but you did great, as always!
    Ronell

  2. June 21, 2007 10:09 am

    You’ve got to keep trying new things, haven’t you? The first one here is the most successful, I think, but the others are also good.

  3. June 21, 2007 3:28 pm

    I love the first one too – beautiful, Casey! I’d have been very happy to walk away with any of them. What is really working for me in the final long pose is your beautiful choice of colour.

  4. June 22, 2007 12:38 am

    Great job on these! I just joined a figur egroup and its so hard for me!!!

  5. June 22, 2007 4:04 am

    Maybe the stars aren’t all alligned in their proper position and that’s why figure drawing sessions around the world were out of sorts! Blame it on the universe! I think they are wonderful because YOU spent time being creative. My session tonight was a bit weird and not as enjoyable as other times.

  6. June 22, 2007 10:38 am

    I’m missing life classes at the moment, because although it is so challenging, I do love it. I agree the first is most successful, it’s lovely, but they’re all learning – and Casey you should see some of mine! The colours in that last one are beautiful.

  7. June 23, 2007 9:50 pm

    Casey!! No wonder you’re so pleased–you ARE pleased, aren’t you?! My favorite is the second one, but I also like the gutsy color and brushwork of the last one.

  8. June 24, 2007 12:51 am

    Casey, I like the fact that you have attempted to approach this in a variety of views, and styles. Good for you. I am going Monday for the first time in many many years.

  9. June 25, 2007 5:26 am

    Wow, these are fantastic. 🙂

  10. caseytoussaint permalink*
    June 25, 2007 7:01 am

    Thanks for your encouragement, everyone. I actually was happy with these, except the watercolor. As Ronell said, the pose lasted too long – we didn’t realize it would be such a long pose, so we worked fast and then fiddled, expecting to be finished at any time. The model did have sort of strange body, and he came out looking kind of rubbery. I was glad to be able to get something down quickly in the first poses though. The trouble with this life class has been that we never really know what we’re doing, poses go from short to long, and often we’re told it’ll be short but it ends up being long. On the up side, it’s close to where I live and much better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

