Skip to content

Bill

June 15, 2007

He left us yesterday, but he’d been leaving for a long time. I prefer to remember him like this, when he could still make us groan at his terrible jokes, enrage us with his political opinions, and impress us with his knowledge of ships and the sea.

We’ve been missing him for a while, but now it seems real.

Bye, Dad.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2007 1:31 pm

    Your father would feel have felt so proud, seeing this… and he would’ve been so happy, knowing you remember him like this.
    My love
    Ronell

  2. June 15, 2007 1:39 pm

    What a beautiful sketch…he must have been a wonderful man. My heart goes out to you… I will be thinking about you in the next days…

  3. June 15, 2007 1:42 pm

    It sounds like he will always be with you, just in another capacity. Your warmth and strength made me a tearful. I could see that your message was simple and deeply heartfelt. The drawing of your father is charming. I hope you will be well.

    Ashley

  4. June 15, 2007 1:46 pm

    Casey, my heart goes out to you. I know what it’s like to lose a father. Your sketch of him is beautiful.

  5. June 15, 2007 1:58 pm

    Casey, my heart goes out to you as well. I lost my father, too, many moons ago, tho. I’ll bet he was a wonderful man. There’s a lot of love in this sketch. It’s beautiful. I’ll keep you in my heart… take care.

  6. June 15, 2007 2:01 pm

    Oh, Casey – I’m so sorry. Your sketch is a lovely tribute to your Dad.

  7. June 15, 2007 2:58 pm

    Casey, such sad news and my heart truly is with yours! My dad died suddenly and unexpectedly on Apr 27 and I’m still trying to accept it. My heartfelt prayers to you and your family!

  8. June 15, 2007 3:29 pm

    So sorry Casey….Thinking of you all through this difficult and emotional time. x

  9. June 15, 2007 4:41 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss Casey. This drawing is a wonderful tribute to your father. He must have been so proud of you. My prayers are with you and your family.

  10. June 15, 2007 4:51 pm

    My heart goes out to you Casey. This is a very wonderful tribute.

  11. betty wilkins permalink
    June 15, 2007 5:04 pm

    Dear Casey,

    My thought and prayers are with you at this time. I am saddened by your loss.

  12. sandy permalink
    June 15, 2007 5:47 pm

    Oh Casey, I am so sorry —-

  13. June 15, 2007 5:52 pm

    What a beautiful sketch and a loving tribute to your Dad, Casey. It’s so difficult to lose a parent, even if it is long expected. I’m so sorry.

  14. June 15, 2007 6:21 pm

    thinking of you and wishing you the best possible situation. know that time does take away the pain but leaves the tender love and good times. you have many friends, both in person and online, thinking of you in this difficult time. hope to see you soon.

  15. June 15, 2007 6:43 pm

    I’m so sorry for you, Casey.

  16. Windsong permalink
    June 15, 2007 7:29 pm

    So sorry to hear this news, Casey. One thing is for sure, though – love never dies and he will always be in your heart.

  17. June 15, 2007 8:55 pm

    Hi Casey, I just wanted to tell you that my heart goes out to you. I just heard. I can only imagine the pain, really. I send you hugs and positive thoughts. I am so sorry. I’ve seen a lot of loss but still can only imagine your pain. *HUGS*
    ~Lauren

  18. Christine permalink
    June 15, 2007 9:23 pm

    So sorry for your loss. It is always hard when a parent dies no matter your age. But so glad you have wonderful memories and that fabulous drawing you did of your father. I visit you blog so often I feel like I know you.

    Chris

  19. June 15, 2007 9:31 pm

    So sad about your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  20. Ari-Asha permalink
    June 16, 2007 12:03 am

    Casey–I am thinking of you.

    Ari-Asha

  21. June 16, 2007 2:04 am

    Casey,
    It was lovely to see a sketch of your dad. Please accept my deepest sympathy. You will be in my thoughts and prayers in the coming days. Lots and lots of love to you from Susan in Australia

  22. June 16, 2007 2:22 am

    Oh Casey, what can I say that others haven’t already posted? Your post was so full of love, and respect- it just knocked the wind out of me. I wish I could say something to comfort you and your family. Thank you for sharing this deeply personal, loving tribute with us.

  23. June 16, 2007 4:11 am

    My hearfelt sympathy. I lost my mother suddenly 8 years ago and I still miss her so much. For those of us who express ourselves through our pictures….this fine tribute shows your love, grief and wonder that this man must have been. I keep you in my heart.

  24. June 16, 2007 5:09 am

    Casey,
    Please accept my sympathy.

  25. June 16, 2007 6:42 am

    Casey, my heart aches for you at this time. This is one of the defining moments of our lives when we realize time doesn’t stand still and we each must be ruled by it. Life goes on for us even as it ends for someone we love.

    Be strong and be comforted that your Dad is now at peace.

    Gentle hugs,

    Bonny

  26. June 16, 2007 8:45 am

    Oh,so sorry, Casey. My thoughts to you.
    Jules

  27. caseytoussaint permalink*
    June 16, 2007 9:05 am

    To all of you- I am overwhelmed by your sympathy and kindness. Writing this post was incredibly helpful to me, and hearing from so many of you makes it even more so. If you just stopped by and didn’t leave a comment, thank you as well, I appreciate your thoughts.

  28. June 16, 2007 10:04 am

    Heartfelt sympathies to you Casey.

  29. June 16, 2007 1:23 pm

    Oh Casey, I’m so sorry for your loss. My heart goes out to you and your family. Even though I know what it is like to lose a father, I cannot imagine what it feels like for you. i do know there is nothing I can say that will fill the void that his passing has left. Thank you for sharing a little bit of who he was with the rest of us. Your sketch and your story honors his memory and helps to make it grow.

  30. June 16, 2007 2:48 pm

    Oh Casey, what terribly sad news. You wrote beautiful about your father and your sketch is touching tribute. My thoughts are with you.

  31. June 16, 2007 5:34 pm

    What a lovely tribute to your Dad, in words and picture. You will have him with you always in your heart. Sending warm thoughts your way…

  32. Kay permalink
    June 16, 2007 7:19 pm

    Casey, I am sorry to hear of your loss. How wonderful to draw a sketch of him as a tribute to his life. I know he must have been very proud of you. Blessings…

  33. June 16, 2007 10:52 pm

    You have my sincerest condolences Casey. I lost my father a few years ago at Christmas without warning. I remember his laugh, how his eyes crinkled, how he would (lovingly) pick on me, and of all the wonderful times I had with him. Your father, I think, would be very proud of your remembrance, your memorial for him. Right now we are watching my 102 year old grandmother ‘take her leave’ so I can understand when you say that “he’d been leaving for a long time”. It isn’t easy and, you’re right, the reality of it even if you are prepared is still hard. Know that you aren’t alone though, that others do understand what you are going through and that as long as you remember him he is never truly gone…

    Keep your life artful, your work is a beautiful legacy.

    Brightest Blessings,
    Ria, aka Renmeleon
    EDM list

  34. June 17, 2007 2:51 pm

    A wonderful tribute Casey. Your loss has become our gain by knowing a little bit about him. Thank you and condolences.

  35. June 17, 2007 10:31 pm

    beautiful flower painting Casey.
    and my deepest sympathy on the loss of your father.

  36. Cheryl permalink
    June 18, 2007 6:47 am

    Casey, my deepest sympathy on the loss of your father. I am just going through mail and found out this morning. My heart and prayers are with you and your family.

    Peace to you my friend,

    Cheryl (cjoi72)

  37. June 19, 2007 8:40 pm

    Sorry to hear these news, Casey. Your drawing of him is wonderful. The way you have shown him, he seemed to be a very friendly person.

  38. June 21, 2007 10:04 am

    Sorry to hear about your sad loss. This is a lovely drawing; he looks like a wonderful man.

  39. June 24, 2007 4:51 am

    Oh Casey, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. My thoughts are with you and your family. Your drawing is a beautiful memory of him.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

