Skip to content

People Sketches

June 8, 2007

Some random views, done during my trip. I find drawing people the most exciting, but-alas- the most challenging thing to do. I’m almost never happy with the results, but here are a few anyway.

A woman employed as a cleaner on the avenue of the stars – wherever you go, there is someone cleaning, washing the walls of the subway, sterilizing the elevator button, picking up a lone cigarette butt with long-handled tweezers and washing the spot where it had been. I can only imagine how disgusting people from Hong Kong find Paris when they come to visit, especially if they take the metro! I later saw in a museum that this outfit, which I thought to be a personal and ingenious way to avoid the sun, was in fact traditional Hakka dress.

A game of mah-jong in the jade market. My daughter would not allow me to do another, as during the time it took me to scribble this, my husband bought two bracelets, and we had said we were finished shopping.

Just behind the jade market is a public park. We went out to the street to get some relief from the oppressive heat, and there was a barber cutting someone’s hair, happily listening to the radio…

In the morning, instead of having breakfast at the hotel, we’d go over to the Pacific Coffee Company, where they have free internet access, comfortable armchairs and wonderful cappuccinos (I know France is known for it’s sidewalk cafés, but I’d trade them for one of these any day – clean and smoke-free too!) One morning I tried to sketch a little girl playing around the giraffe-shaped toy box – she didn’t stop moving very often though.

And finally, some faces, quickly noted :

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2007 7:30 am

    Wonderful sketches Casey…with the last seven all being my favorites! Reading of cuppacino is what’s getting my out of my chair now…
    Ronell

  2. June 8, 2007 7:39 am

    These are excellent. I love the hat…it’s amazing she can see out!

  3. June 8, 2007 3:22 pm

    FABULOUS, Casey! I LOVE your loose and captivating style!

  4. June 8, 2007 4:34 pm

    Just wonderful Casey!! They just shout about how much you were having!! Thanks for sharing them.

  5. June 9, 2007 4:52 am

    I dreamt of your China sketches last night. The painted ones vibrant in my dreams. I could see it all so clearly and could smell all sorts of scents. I’ve never been to China and if I never go, I have been there through your beautiful sketches and how they infiltrated my dreams. wow.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

