Skip to content

Coin Challenge

June 8, 2007

I didn’t think I’d get any drawing done today – June is a crazy time in France. That’s because the country shuts down in July and August, everyone goes on vacation for at least three weeks during that time, and it’s difficult to get together with people. Also everything follows the school schedule – yoga classes, tennis groups, art classes, and you have your end-of-the-year get together in June. It’s calmed down considerably for us since the kids have grown and are involved in less activities. There was a time when the three of them had a couple of activities each – we could barely keep it all straight. Anyway, tonight is a huge picnic on the Ile d’Or, a tiny island in the Loire which is part of Amboise – sort of our largest park really, and every year there’s a pot luck dinner there under a certain cedar tree. As long as you know one of the four families sponsoring it (which change almost every year) you get an invitation. I’d planned to make a tomato tart and realized I wouldn’t have enough time to make the piecrust – stopped by the supermarket and had forgotten my wallet! But, back in the car I realized I had 2 euros which I leave there to be able to take a supermarket trolley. When I got home, while waiting for the oven to pre-heat, I had just enough time to draw my change. And now I have just enough time to post it and go to the picnic….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2007 6:12 pm

    I haven’t done this one yet; I couldn’t think of a way of making it interesting, but you’ve done a great job! Hope the picnic is good.

  2. June 8, 2007 9:27 pm

    Great coins Casey…love the shading you did underneath them, it has beautiful depth. And I like your story about them. It reminds me of the good old days where you would hide some change in a jar, or bottle of can or box for that emergency day.
    I hope the picnic is fun, at least it’s not raining and it’s not too chilly either.
    Ronell

  3. June 8, 2007 10:53 pm

    Those are very rich-looking coins! You have brought beauty to them.

  4. June 9, 2007 10:40 pm

    What great coins and great color. And that drawing of the cleaner is so cute. I thought it was beekeeper. What a great time you must be having. Everywhere else besides home always seems so exotic to me. France sounds wonderful.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

