Skip to content

Hong Kong – The Bird Market

June 5, 2007

On a quiet little street near the flower market (which is magnificent) you find the bird market. It’s peaceful and shady, and bird owners bring their birds in cages and hang them in the trees to converse with one another while they talk on the ground. It wasn’t a good drawing day for me, but I did a couple of bird sketches, and a bird seller. People kept coming to look over my shoulder as I drew, and on this day it bothered me…

A few minutes later, we passed by a strange pet store. I sketched these turtles while Claire and Michel had a look around. They both came very suddenly to me and said “let’s get out of here – this place is creepy” Among the lizards and tarantulas, they’d seen a whole lot of huge fluffy rabbits in tiny cages and it really depressed them. Anyway – here are the turtles:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2007 12:01 pm

    Casey,
    Thank you so much for taking a peek at my beginning drawings. I’ve linked to your website on my blog (http://presenttense-umpqua.blogspot.com/) and I look at your paintings every day. Your use of simple lines, color and white space is stunning – just gorgeous. I’m thrilled to be able to start my day by looking at your work. Thank you for sharing it with the world! Sharon

    The parrot is vibrant!

  2. June 5, 2007 1:00 pm

    Casey! THes are great. I love the idea that the bird sellers bring the birds together to talk!! The turrles are charming!!! Lovely travel sketches. I love how the “story” is unfolding.

  3. June 5, 2007 1:17 pm

    I just love these Casey!! So colorful and so much a part of that world.

  4. June 5, 2007 6:09 pm

    I’m very much enjoying your beautifully illustrated account of your trip. I love the idea of the bird market – bringing the birds to have a chat too – excellent!

    PS I also like the colourful roofs picture.

  5. June 5, 2007 10:25 pm

    Great travel sketches and the birds are so colorful. And I agree with your friends, I’d want out of there too, dont’ want to think too much what the fates of those critters were.

  6. June 6, 2007 4:06 am

    Wow Casey – kudos to you for getting so many of these done on your trip! They are all wonderful, you’ve really captured the environment of the scenes exceptionally well. Lovely clean colors and simple lines with just the perfect amount of looseness. I’ve so enjoyed reading of your time and looking at all the work you’ve done!!

  7. June 6, 2007 6:26 am

    Great sketches again Casey…I love the birds, especially the second one…is it a parrot? Very nice travelling along with you…
    Ronell

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

