Skip to content

Last Post for a few Weeks

May 19, 2007

Yesterday, while I was supposed to be getting ready for my trip, I sat down with The Drawing Book, by Sarah Simbletf or a few minutes. It was highly recommended to me by Nina Johansson, and I want to say thank you Nina! It just arrived yesterday, and it’s really wonderful. If you’ve ever had trouble drawing hands and feet for example – the instructions in this book will help. After readng them through, I did a quick sketch of my hand that turned out ok; where I would usually spend at least 15 minutes getting it right – if not more, in less than 5 it came together. Not perfect, but a big improvement. There’s even a page on ellipses, and somehow they are easier to do after reading it.

I bought a new sketchbook for my trip, which of course I had to try out. It’s by Hartley and Marks and is called a paperblanks old leather. The cover is gorgeous hand-tooled leather. I tried watercolor but it doesn’t work as well as a watercolor moleskine – It’s perfect for water soluble pencil though. Here are a couple of pages :

Remember that poppy I sketched a few weeks ago?

and, lastly, a couple of drawings from life class – the first very small (sketchbook size) and the second very large. I was happier with the second before the teacher came by and wanted me to fill in all the white areas – a tip I read too late in the Sarah Simblet book – don’t let anyone tell you how to draw if you don’t agree….

And now I’m really going! Thanks to Ronell for the beautiful bon voyage post!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2007 12:29 pm

    Casey – Have a great trip! Very much looking forward to your HK sketches.

  2. May 19, 2007 3:40 pm

    Hope you have a wonderful trip!!! I have that book too and I love it. These are wonderful drawings especially the figures and the hand. I’m really going to look forward to seeing your travel sketches!!!!

  3. May 19, 2007 10:27 pm

    Have a great trip. Can’t wait to see your sketches. I don’t know that book…I’ll have to check it out!

  4. May 19, 2007 11:19 pm

    Have a great trip, Casey! Love the figure sketches – even with the whites filled in…but YOU know best! 🙂

    Looking forward to those HK sketches…

  5. May 20, 2007 2:30 am

    savor every color of your adventure!

  6. May 20, 2007 4:03 am

    What a lovely gift to us of numerous sketches before your trip! Have a great time, then give us more!

  7. May 20, 2007 1:56 pm

    your life drawings are fabulous and i’ll be off shortly to check out the book recco. it sounds good. have a safe trip and i hope you get to blog occasionally.

  8. May 20, 2007 2:30 pm

    Beautiful beautiful drawings – as usual! I am glad you liked the book, I´m crazy about it too. It´s a huge source of inspiration. Have a nice trip, looking forward to checking back to your blog in a while!

  9. May 21, 2007 11:31 am

    the two life drawing pictures are great.

  10. May 22, 2007 7:20 pm

    I missed your leaving! I know you’re having a wonderful time—can’t wait to see your sketches!

  11. May 25, 2007 7:46 pm

    I was racking my brain trying to remember which EDMer had mentioned “The Drawing Book” on their blog … have just realised it was you, so I must thank YOU now because I’ve started working my way through it and it is indeed wonderful! I like the mixture of information about materials, practical drawing exercises and inspiring text: the way Simblet writes about the artworks is compelling. I also notice she mentions “walnut ink” – could this be fabled brou de noix??

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

