Skip to content

Still Life with Jewelry

May 15, 2007

Following a suggestion by Marta, this weeks painting has to include jewelry. I chose a necklace that I bought a couple of years ago when I was on vacation with my friend, Emmanuelle, her daughters and my son at the beach, near Bordeaux before the season had started. She insisted I buy it, and I’m so glad – it was cheap and is very light, and it looks expensive and heavy. I wear it all the time. The litle blue cups were given to me by my daughter one year for Christmas, when she was very young. I just love their color, although I didn’t quite do it justice here. I used pastels for this one.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2007 6:28 pm

    Love your painting Casey…the colors are just so rich and beautiful and the jewelry looks great along side your cups…great work! I always love your pastel work.
    Ronell

  2. May 16, 2007 4:12 am

    Oooh. This is yummy. I love the colors and the texture! Just beautiful!

  3. May 16, 2007 5:17 am

    oh wow! I better get to my painting! I actually have a bracelet in mind also…..I think it will also work the for EDM #119; Rocks.
    Your subject matter is so simple yet the compositon is wonderful and of course the complimentary colors just pop!

  4. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 16, 2007 7:08 am

    Great idea, Marta! I think this is also my EDM rock challenge.

  5. May 16, 2007 3:20 pm

    Gorgeous peacock colours. I really enjoy seeing your pastels, Casey. Which beach did you visit? Don’t suppose it was Lacanau? I have some fun memories of the place!

  6. May 17, 2007 1:01 am

    Very pretty! I think its so much fun to draw a beloved peice of jewlery. Great colors here and you are an artist of all media!! Softies drive me nuts.

  7. May 17, 2007 1:45 am

    This is lovely and why I like pastel. The scratchy texture, the soft hazy focus as if light was trying to break through the surface.

  8. Damien permalink
    May 17, 2007 10:50 am

    Yes it was lacanau. We went there for a week during easter break in 2005. So cold….

  9. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 17, 2007 1:17 pm

    Thank you for the kind words everybody. And as Damien says, it was Lacanau. It was wonderful off-season. It must get very crowded in August though.

  10. May 17, 2007 5:00 pm

    I wish I could make pastels work for me the way you do, Casey. This is stunning. The colour is beautiful as are your marks. I’m going back to examine it closely to see if I can learn from you.

  11. May 17, 2007 5:02 pm

    May I ask what ground your using? It’s working beautifully for you.

  12. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 17, 2007 8:29 pm

    Hi Robyn – this is just ordinary Canson pastel paper. For me, the pqstels themselves are more important – here I used mostly Schminke, which are great. Senneliers are wonderful too.

  13. May 17, 2007 10:49 pm

    LOVE those colours! Great job, Casey ~

  14. May 19, 2007 1:53 am

    Yummy! Love the colors, and pastels in general.

  15. May 21, 2007 11:32 am

    the colors are stunning. and i really like the way you use the pastels, which shows the strokes.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

