Skip to content

Life Drawing

May 10, 2007

We had life drawing yesterday, and I was hopeless. I’m trying out some new Derwent sketching pencils,which when water is added make a really nice wash. They were recommended by recommended by Martin, as a way to get me over my problem doing figures in wash. I think it’s going to take more than that (sigh…) I find it extremely difficult to achieve any kind of subtlety quickly, especially in faces, which is a shame because our model yesterday has a very beautiful face. Yesterday we reduced the pose time to 30 seconds for a while – it got me into such a state that I couldn’t draw at all after that. This is the only one that I could really show anyone, and I’m not thrilled with it…I’m going to try to practice this week – next week we have the same model and I hope to show you something better!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2007 8:17 pm

    I really like this! I think you’ve done a great job with her face, which looks delicate and thoughtful. I like the effect of the wash – is it kind of like a watercolour pencil? It works well.

  2. May 10, 2007 9:34 pm

    Casey! You need glasses. This is very good! That, or I need glasses! And I know I don’t because I’ve just paid a fortune for new ones! You have captured something lovely here and if it were mine, I’d frame it.

  3. May 11, 2007 5:36 am

    Gosh, I think this is lovely Casey! Her foot is just gorgeous! I know I would be the same after 30 second poses. I’m not sure such quick poses are so useful except for getting in a panic!

  4. May 12, 2007 8:14 am

    i think it is lovely too! capturing a foot like that would make my day. could i ask what size of paper you’re using?

  5. May 12, 2007 4:34 pm

    Well I think you are being extra-ordinarily hard on yourself – this is lovely.

    I don’t know if this is helpful or not, but when I have attended taught life drawing workshops, and on my college course now we were taught that for 30 second poses they were for warm up only and the idea was to capture the ‘gesture’ of the pose – i.e. do not under any circumstances attempt any sort of contour drawing, instead turn a piece of charcoal (something soft) on its side, and use braod sweeping gesture to try and get the essence of the pose – this helps you to begin observing the model, and the weight distribution. 30 sec poses are very useful, but only if their purpose is explained to you. Same goes for anything under five minutes really, don’t attempt a ‘drawing’ instead use this time to begin to understand the human body better, and how it moves. Sorry, this is turning into a lecture and I apologise if it’s inappropriate!

  6. May 13, 2007 6:13 am

    Hi Casey – I like this drawing, and like the others you’ve posted since I last visited. Congratulations on growing flowers! I got “tagged” by Casey Klahn to tell 7 things about myself on my blog and then tag 7 others. So, I tagged you – if you are willing and haven’t done it yet.

    take care! Mary

  7. May 13, 2007 1:40 pm

    First of all, your figure is beautiful. Second, you are working in 30 SECONDS??????????????????Very impressive. Thirdly, you are using a new to you media. Just keep on drawin’. I love visiting.

  8. May 13, 2007 9:12 pm

    As always your drawings are great. You have been tagged because I have been and I love your art. Please go to this post for the rules:http://aracatac.wordpress.com/2007/05/13/tagged/

    I don’t know if you like this, but I am following the rules I got from Janey’s Journal, who tagged me. Happy tagging post!

  9. May 13, 2007 10:54 pm

    Just wanted to let you know, since I enjoy your blog, I have tagged you. If you don’t already know about it you can follow the link to my blog: http://mothsblog.blogspot.com/2007/05/ive-been-tagged.html

  10. May 14, 2007 8:01 am

    I too, think this is lovely – so many supposedly ‘successful’ life drawings look so lifeless – this person had a real feel of ‘being there, holding a pose’

  11. May 14, 2007 2:01 pm

    I am deadly sure I left a comment, right after Carole..but it’s not here? I”m leaving it again, now don’t go and delete it again…!
    I think you did great with the new medium and you’ve captured her pose beautifully…she is such a beautiful model!
    ronell

  12. May 15, 2007 4:26 pm

    This is definitely lovely. The wash worked perfectly.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

