Skip to content

Something (sort of) Round

May 7, 2007

One of those drawings you regret having started – especially when tired after staying up to hear reactions to to the election last night. This is a sugar bowl and cream pitcher in the shape of golf balls, bought years ago, before I ever suspected that my husband would one day take up and become obsessed with golf. I don’t remember what made me buy it – it must have been on sale or something, and we have since broken the lid, so it doesn’t really look like a golf ball any more, and it’s not even round.

On another subject, I was unhappy with the painting I did the other day of the Ecluse restaurant, so today I did a quick value study to try to improve the shapes. I think this will lead to an improvement, and it’s probably worth having another go. What do you think?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 6:08 pm

    The drawing is excellent. I like the way you can see the light coming through the thinner dimples. I thought the earlier painting was good, but I’m sure it would be worth having another go…of course, I’m being selfish here because I’d like to see it!

  2. May 7, 2007 7:22 pm

    Great golfballs!! Yip, quite a bit of work there ith all those little “holes” but you did great! And I also liked your previous painting, but since I know you by now, I can just say…have fun doing the next one!!
    Ronell

  3. sandy permalink
    May 7, 2007 7:36 pm

    Quite a challenge to keep all those round dimples in place – simple and right on the challenge mark. and my husband is considering golf if he ever has enough time – I know how that goes !

  4. May 8, 2007 12:03 am

    I find the value study beautiful. I think I like it better than the painting….. golf..mine is obsessed with it too! In fact he’s out right now in sizzling heat just to chase a little ball around the course!

  5. May 8, 2007 2:21 pm

    You’ve done a great job with these ’round’ drawings. They are rather characterful objects!

    I liked your previous hotel painting, but it would be very interesting to see how it would change and develop as a result of you doing this value study. Go for it!

  6. May 8, 2007 4:40 pm

    These are too funny!! My DH would love them!! Great texture and form.

  7. May 9, 2007 6:44 am

    Yes, beautifully round. I like how you depicted the designs on them, too

  8. May 9, 2007 12:50 pm

    The ‘golf ball’ pot and bowl are brilliant! Well done with the dimples and the shading, I think they look nice and round … and I like the value study so I guess I’m saying go for it!

  9. May 9, 2007 11:18 pm

    Your golf ball set is very funny. I suppose you would never like to draw another dimple! You have met your round challenge well.

    Your husband must be very mature; otherwise, the set would find its way to the ground to be met with the head of a golf club. *evil grin*

  10. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 15, 2007 3:29 pm

    Thanks everybody. No, I will never draw another dimple! I’ve tried to re-do that painting but seem tohave a block. The value study is much better than anything else I’ve done. (sigh)

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

