Skip to content

Something with Water

May 6, 2007

The theme Ronell and I chose for our painting of this week was water. Amboise, the city I live in, is situated on the Loire river, one of the main waterways of France, but we also have a small tributary of the Cher, called the Amasse,  running through the town. Originally, Amboise was a bit like Venice in some parts, with rivers serving as streets :

But, in 1905 it was decided this was unsanitary (and I’m sure it probably was), so they covered up the visible parts f the river with roads. Today, you’d never know the river was there, except in one or two spots. I went over to one for my subject of the week. This is a restaurant, called L’Ecluse, and it sits along one of the still-visible sections of the Amasse. One of the projects announced by our town government about ten years ago was to clean up and enhance this part of town, but we’re still waiting. So here’s my attempt to portray it for you. These kind of subjects are difficult for me, so it looks more like a sketch than a painting, but it’s a larger format and not in a sketch book – so that counts, doesn’t it?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kunya permalink
    May 6, 2007 2:11 pm

    This seems to be a lovely place. I like the warm colors…and again, the loose style you use. Wish I could someday visit that place 🙂

  2. May 6, 2007 2:19 pm

    Love it Casey! You know how quickly I fall in love with ink and watercolor paintings!

  3. May 6, 2007 2:26 pm

    Isn’t Amboise where Leonardo lived? Must be an inspiring place for an artist to live! This is very evocative; looks like a lovely place for a meal.

  4. May 6, 2007 2:35 pm

    A lovely painting Casey and beautiful colors.. I love it!
    Ronell

  5. May 6, 2007 4:53 pm

    I love this painting – wonderful glowing colors. Of course it counts! I think you succeeded very well. Is your town anywhere near Angers? I was there for six months many years ago to study French, loved both the town and the countryside around it. I could just look this up on a map, I know, but how fun is that? 🙂

  6. caseytoussaint permalink*
    May 6, 2007 6:43 pm

    Thanks everybody!
    Yes, this is where Leonardo lived the last 3 years of his life – you can visit his last place of residence, called the Clos Lucé, but here are no paintings to see – any that I know of are at the Louvre.
    And we’re not too far from Angers – about a 2 hour drive, but it’s the same region.

  7. May 7, 2007 1:18 am

    I like this painting. the colors are pleasing and you handled the subject well.
    It looks beautiful where you live. My husband and I went to Paris on our honeymoon and we visited Giverney. Are you near to Monet’s home?

  8. May 7, 2007 7:01 am

    Casey, this is really good! I really like the colours too. What a lovely place it is.

  9. sandy permalink
    May 7, 2007 2:30 pm

    Casey this is just lovely and very inviting, you live in such a beautiful place.

  10. May 7, 2007 3:15 pm

    Casey this is wonderful! I’ve often wanted to create paintings that were as loose and free as sketches with ink lines and haven’t done it yet. Thanks for the inspiration and the view and history of your lovely town. I so wish I could visit France!

  11. May 7, 2007 4:13 pm

    Looks like a beautiful town indeed, Casey. I’m going to start nagging you to do more sketches of your wonderful buildings. I really miss being by water, so I was disappointed to hear that they had felt the need to cover up so much of yours. The restaurant looks lovely though. I really don’t know when a sketch becomes a painting or a painting ‘just’ as sketch. I don’t think it matters when the picture is as vibrant and lively as this one.

Trackbacks

  1. Something (sort of) Round « rue Manuel bis

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

