Skip to content

A Sign of Spring

May 6, 2007

A couple of flower sketches for the EDM ‘sign of Spring’ challenge. Poppies are my favorite flower and I bought and planted some a couple of years ago, but they always seemed to die. We just put in a sprinkler system and guess what – flowers! (and yes, we do feel sort of stupid right now). Here’s the first one – it’ll be gone in a day or two.


These are called coeurs de Marie here in France, or “Mary’s hearts”. I don’t know what they are in English, maybe someone could tell me?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2007 6:41 pm

    Yes, they are called Bleeding Hearts (one of the very few names I know!) I love how you’ve painted them, so wonderfully loose, the poppy too! Hmm, our small fence of fir trees went brown recently and hasn’t looked healthy for ages. I asked my DH (he’t the one with the green fingers) whether he had watered them at all….oops!

  2. May 6, 2007 10:44 pm

    Very nice and loose Casey!

  3. May 7, 2007 9:43 am

    I’m at my parents home with the first fast internet connection in quite a while 😛 the work in this and earlier posts looks fabulous. looking at your value studies reminded me that i had been doing something similar following the instructions in Kevin MacPherson’s book – just two values black ‘n white. the first step is to do a small study and mark all shadow areas in black with a marker.

  4. sandy permalink
    May 7, 2007 2:38 pm

    My poppies always die too – now we have an automatic irrigation system so maybe I will try them again – I LOVE them too – great sketch – Yes Bleeding Hearts are what we call them and I have one that is just getting ready to bloom so tender and beautiful. I must sketch them too.

  5. May 7, 2007 3:17 pm

    Absolutely charming! Thanks for the tip about the watering system. My gardeners keep telling me that’s what I need (I forget to water or put it off until tomorrow). I’m sure my garden would be much happier with one. I love those little heart flowers. So sweet!

  6. May 7, 2007 3:52 pm

    Tres jolie! I think it’s too hot where I live for such tender blossoms. You do such a beautiful job with florals. My favorite is the poppy!

  7. May 7, 2007 4:06 pm

    I’ve never seen the bleeding hearts before – they are lovely, and beautifully captured. The poppy is gorgeous!

  8. May 7, 2007 7:18 pm

    Beautiful Casey! I adore the poppy, maybe I’ll still get to see it in the garden?
    Ronell

  9. May 7, 2007 7:38 pm

    Casey, these are both lovely – and I have to thank you, because by coincidence I drew a single “Bleeding heart” bloom today and had no idea what it might be called! Aren’t they pretty?

  10. May 8, 2007 2:15 pm

    Lovely loose sketches, Casey! That poppy is beautiful.

  11. May 8, 2007 4:39 pm

    Love the freeness of these flowers!!

  12. September 3, 2007 8:26 pm

    I just wanted to say hey to everyone, and that I absolutely love this site. Yall produce some great content.;D

  13. linda permalink
    June 26, 2008 8:48 pm

    HELLO IVE LOVED LOOKING AT YOUR PAINTINGS, IM HOPPING TO DRAW LIKE YOU ONE DAY. BLEEDING HEATS ARE ONE OF MY FAVORITE FLOWERS. I WISH YOU WOULD PAINT AN ASSORTMENT OF WILD FLOWERS, THEY ALWAYS LOOK SO FRAGILE AND PRETTY. IM TRING TO DRAW A BLUEBELL WITHOUT SUSSESS. LOVE ADMIRING YOUR WORK

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

