Skip to content

Wisteria in Color

April 24, 2007

Well, I’ve tried several times to capture something of the beauty of all this blooming wisteria, but I’m always so disappointed with the results. Last night we almost didn’t get dinner as I struggled to paint them in the late afternoon sun. You can see how it was almost gone when I finished the last one. Today I saw that there were some fairly new blooms in one corner and tried again, in a close up. I think that will have to be it. The petals are falling and the green is taking over…..

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2007 8:39 pm

    I think you’ve done a great job of capturing the essence of wisteria; lovely colours too. They don’t last long, so you’ve got to take your chance to paint them…you can eat dinner any time!

  2. April 24, 2007 8:48 pm

    Lovely sketches! They are all nice..the first two capture the light beautifully and the last one the flowers…I’m always sad when the green starts to take over..
    Ronell

  3. April 24, 2007 10:55 pm

    Casey,
    The wisteria is gorgeous. I’m not sure which of the 3 I like best. I’m just starved for some pretty flowers as spring begins, barely, in NYC.
    Shirley

  4. April 26, 2007 9:09 am

    Lovely! The simplicity of your approach in that first image is to be admired. I’m seeing wisteria all over the place this year, and have thought about trying to capture it in watercolour, but there’s nowhere secluded enough for me to dare to attempt it.

  5. April 26, 2007 8:28 pm

    Love this, Casey. I’m so glad you have captured the blooms in paint, as I’ve not managed to see any around here this year. It obviously doesn’t thrive in Yorkshire!

  6. nat permalink
    June 4, 2009 2:34 am

    hi… i been looking for perfect garden paintings for my coursework n wen i nearly gave up i found u … u saved my work mate as my cpursework is due in on friday so ill be getting concept from ur paintings!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

