Skip to content

Value Studies

April 23, 2007

I’m trying to learn to simplify, and only include significant detailin my painting and drawing. Part of that process is doing value drawings. From an old civil-war-era photo, I tried to reduce this young man sitting by a tent to the most important shapes, while still retaining the essential. My first attempt was hopelessly complicated and fussy. This is the second one, but as you can see, I need a third draft. It’s so difficult to unclutter!

Then I did one from life – the wisteria is blooming like crazy and I tried to capture it. Later today, I hope to do a color study of this one. Check out Ronell’s wisteria paintings at <http://rnllvanwyk.blogspot.com/2007/04/details-of-wisteria.html&gt; for some gorgeous color. You can’t help but want to paint wisteria around here right now – it’s everywhere, and in that amazing first bloom where it’s all flowers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2007 1:17 pm

    I agree with you…simplicity is VERY hard for me too.This is a great idea. I read on someone’s blog somewhere that it does not really matter what color you choose if the value is correct. The wisteria looks hard. Nice job on both of them

  2. April 23, 2007 2:26 pm

    Both great monochrome sketches. My humble opinion? I don’t think you have to “learn” in any way to simplify…you already do that so masterfully.(see first sketch!) That is what defines your style! But I can understand the need to further explore and develop it, since the need to strive to do better, different, will always be there… can’t wait to see the color version of the wisteria!
    Ronell

  3. April 23, 2007 4:38 pm

    Value studies are so helpful to do, as is simplifying. I get so hung up on the details I often lose the big picture. Nice work!

  4. April 23, 2007 8:48 pm

    Your post is a good reminder for everyone to do these kind of studies. I know that I need to remind myself also and should go do one right now. Wonderful job on these. Thanks.

  5. April 23, 2007 11:20 pm

    Those value studies are interesting works in their own right! It’s great to try new things, though I agree with Ronell that you don’t really need much practice!

  6. April 24, 2007 7:11 am

    I like the man in front of the tent. What are value studies? Studying the different shades of one color?
    Thanks for commenting in my blog. Somehow it relieved me a lot. I have some friends who are kind of “different” but their hobbies and also their interests interest me because I´m attached to my friends. SO very often I tend to start painting dark pictures and I get interested by their dark topics. But somehow I´m always a bit afraid to post this stuff in my blog. I guess about 90% of my readers would be shocked to read and see my stuff if I wouldn´t censor it. 🙂 I know that it is my blog and that I should not be influenced by gthe others. But I have difficulties with that – specially as many people know me in real life too.

    SO I was very happy to read your comment, that you thought the posts were interesting. THANKS!

    BTW: The link on the profile page of yopur comments doesn´t link to this blog.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

