Skip to content

Something Ugly, (but Sentimentally important)

April 10, 2007

My husband’s grandfather used to keep his tobacco in this pot. I’ve always thought it was a really hideous object, but he’s attached to it. I was hoping that there was an exciting story about how it was the only thing rescued after the house was blown up in WWII, since the top has been broken and glued back together, but to be honest, he’s not really sure. Anyway, I did it once in color, and it was so ugly that I did it again in graphite.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2007 6:18 pm

    Can anything be ugly that let you make so wonderful drawings of it? I really like the colored version. The pot lookes lovely to me.

  2. April 10, 2007 6:42 pm

    It’s so ironic that you disliked the first version because it was “so ugly” given that the challenge is to draw something ugly. That really made me smile. To add to the irony, I have to agree with nik, I much prefer the colored version. Perhaps the pot is ugly, but your drawing of it is quite lovely. I especially love the freedom with which you handled the line work.

  3. April 10, 2007 7:43 pm

    Not fair, Casey…when something is ugly, you have to make it look ugly!! But when I read what it was used for, then I can probably see its ugliness – that black lid and top part makes me think of lava, all hard and dark and scary and…..ugly?
    Great sketch!
    Ronell

  4. April 10, 2007 9:34 pm

    I also prefer the coloured version – it looks like some sort of honey pot with tar bubbling out of the top. It’s a great sketch of an object that certainly qualifies for this challenge!

  5. April 11, 2007 3:26 am

    I’m following the crowd here, I know – but I think the colored version is actually quite beautiful. The pot may be ugly, but your art certainly makes it lovely!!

  6. April 11, 2007 6:15 am

    At first I thought you were going to say it held his ashes, not his tobacco… But maybe he’s still alive and will enjoy seeing his homely pot so gloriously painted.

  7. April 11, 2007 6:40 am

    Certainly the colours you’ve used and the graphite sketch are lovely! I wonder if you can still smell the tobacco?

    BTW, I love the blogroll and how you can preview them in pop-up windows, that’s so cool!

  8. :) Silvia permalink
    April 11, 2007 7:19 am

    Sometimes things are just so ugly that they’re again esthetic – in their very special way. At least I like your painting of it.

  9. April 11, 2007 8:51 am

    Thank you all for your comments. I find it a very strange experience to deliberately portray something ugly, it bothered me deep down, went against my nature somehow. When I saw the challenge I immediately thought of this pot. Maybe I have an irrational hatred of it? something about the two colors of glaze (shudder).

  10. April 12, 2007 2:18 am

    I like both of your drawings! Neither one looks ugly and it’s interesting how even something ugly has beauty. Great job on these. I’m haven’t done mine yet and am trying to think of something to draw….

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

