Skip to content

Something Fresh

April 3, 2007

Last weeks challenge..Ronell and I got to together for drawing today. this is what I got done, in spite of a million interruptions. First a really quick watercolor, followed by a pastel. I actually sort of like the watercolor better, even though it only took a second to do.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. E-J permalink
    April 3, 2007 7:22 pm

    The positioning of the middle fruit is better in the pastel, but they each have their charm. I also don’t think I’ve seen a pastel by you before, Casey, so this is a treat. It’s full of life and character.

  2. April 3, 2007 8:22 pm

    These are wonderful! I love the color in both.

    I like your WordPress blog too – shows off your work nicely.

  3. betty wilkins permalink
    April 3, 2007 10:51 pm

    Another “fresh” thing here is your approach! As always, both of these still lifes are utterly charming!

  4. April 3, 2007 11:45 pm

    Interesting to see the two mediums of the same subject -both have a sparkling freshness but I think the watercolour works more comfortably with this very vertical arrangement of flowers and fruit.

  5. April 3, 2007 11:46 pm

    and, I forgot to say, I love your header sketch.

  6. April 4, 2007 12:25 am

    So Lovely and fresh. I like them both.

  7. April 4, 2007 12:42 am

    Love your new blog – agree the header is fantastic. I love the looseness of the watercolor.

  8. April 4, 2007 5:04 am

    ok, I might have to try my hand at pastels again…it’s been a few years! Your work as always is a pleasure to the eyes as well as the soul!

  9. caseytoussaint permalink*
    April 4, 2007 7:35 am

    You’re right about the positioning of the fruit Emma, but the daffodils are so stiff in the pastel. If I were a serious artist, I’d have done a third version!

  10. April 5, 2007 5:50 pm

    The watercolour has such a lovely easy style but I am so impressed by the pastel simply because mine never look that good! Drawing with Ronell – that must be fun.

  11. April 6, 2007 2:32 pm

    I like the technique of the lower one. Looks really cool. The top one I like too, but somehow I would like it more without the flowers. Somehow they distract me from looking closer at the other parts – though I do prefer the other parts. (Was that expressed okay in English? Boy I should really take language classes. 😉 )

  12. April 6, 2007 4:06 pm

    These are both lively, but in totally different ways. I like both. The watercolour looks more spontaneous, while the pastel is more defined. Both are full of light – lovely.

  13. April 9, 2007 2:29 am

    Your watercolor piece depicts fresh completely. The yellow comes out so fresh, and the lines so effortless. The pastel looks more composed, but the pastel strokes make it so energized. And, that makes it refreshing too.

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    snowman cookie jar on More limited palette pain…
    cna insurance wiki on More limited palette pain…
    can hemorrhoids heal… on More limited palette pain…
    perfect travel consu… on More limited palette pain…
    auto mobile code rev… on More limited palette pain…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 34 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

