Skip to content

Still Life with Oranges

April 24, 2012

For some reason, when I paint in oils I always produce extremely tight paintings.  Landscapes are improving a bit, but I tend to rework still life subjects and lose all spontaneity.  I tried doing this one without any kind of underpainting or drawing.  I thought I was painting better, but when I stood back I realized I hadn’t stopped in time.  Or maybe that’s just me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 11:45 am

    Wow, be happy with this one, it’s gorgeous, Casey.

  2. April 24, 2012 1:34 pm

    Beautiful. If you tend to “go too far” for your liking, maybe you could try stopping and photographing at different stages, or maybe working on more than one painting at the same time.

  3. Sue Berdahl permalink
    April 24, 2012 3:28 pm

    Casey, I like this alot!

  4. Bill Sharp permalink
    April 24, 2012 6:23 pm

    Lovely work, Casey. Very rich color.

  5. April 24, 2012 7:08 pm

    A couple of thoughts :)
    1. I don’t think it is too tight, I think that this painting has just enough sharp details and blurred edges to be called realism.
    2. I think it is beautiful.
    3. And finally who says that to tight is bad? If someone does, I disagree! :)

  6. quirkyartist permalink
    April 25, 2012 8:06 am

    I think it is wonderful. Maybe you could have stopped sooner, bu personally I like where you stopped. You didn’t take realism to extremes. If it was mine I would be so PROUD.i

  7. April 29, 2012 4:34 am

    It’s just you…..it’s beautiful!

  8. May 31, 2013 6:20 pm

    There is such luminosity in this painting! Stunning!

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Lovin

    bloglovin
  • categories

  • Recent Comments

    sites para ganhar di… on More limited palette pain…
    obat tipes on The Loire
    Wordpress Blog Post… on More limited palette pain…
    Watch Matrimonio (20… on Les Carnets Baladeurs –…
    dr oz cambogia on Maurice Sachs and some recent…
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 33 other followers

  • pose maniacs

  • Top Posts

  • feedburner

  • networked blogs

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 33 other followers

